Latest Updates


Published on 18 Sep 2014

Produced by: A. Subashkaran, K. Karunamoorthy

Reliesed on:                                                         24 OCTOBER 2014 (In India)

Director:                                                                                  A.R. Murugadoss

Production company:                                                      Ayngaran International

Music composed by:                                                         Anirudh Ravichander

Producers:                                                  K. Karunamoorthy, A. Subashkaran

Star Cast:

  • Vijay as Kathiresan / Jeevanandham

  • Samantha Ruth Prabhu as Ankitha

  • Neil Nitin Mukesh

  • Tota Roy Chowdhury as Vivek Banerjee

  • Sathish as Dhanu

  • Prabhu Ganesan

  • Subbu Panchu Arunachalam

  • Sayaji Shinde

  • Irfan

The film stars Vijay in a dual role alongside Samantha Ruth Prabhu, with Neil Nitin Mukesh, who made his debut in Tamil cinema through this film, and Tota Roy Chowdhury portraying the antagonist roles.

Kaththi is an upcoming Tamil action thriller film (In english meaning is ‘Knife’) This film is written and directed by AR Murugadoss.

Sound track

The soundtrack album and background score of the film were composed by Anirudh Ravichander. The soundtrack album consists of seven tracks,cinematography was done by George C. Williams, and the film was edited by A. Sreekar Prasad. Eros International purchased the theatrical and audio rights for the film and Lyca Productions and Ayngaran International bankrolled the venture. The grand audio launch of the movie took place on 18 September 2014, at the Leela Palace Hotel in Chennai.


Samantha Ruth Prabhu was confirmed to pair opposite Vijay. Bengali actor Tota Roy Chowdhury was signed for an antagonistic role, an international gangster named Vivek Banerjee In March 2014, Murugadoss stated that Bollywood actor Neil Nitin Mukesh would be part of his project, making his Tamil film debut. He also unveiled that Vijay would be seen in a double role. Actor Sathish was chosen to play a supporting role in the film.  Actors Prabhu Ganesan, Sayaji Shinde and Subbu Panchu were selected to play pivotal roles in the film.

Audio Release:

The audio and teaser of Vijay's much-awaited "Kaththi" were released in an event held at Leela Palace, Chennai, on Thursday.

The event was attended by "Kaththi" cast and crew including Vijay, Neil Nitin Mukesh, Anirudh, Madhan Karky and Hip Hop Thamizha among others.

There are seven tracks in "Kaththi" album including two theme songs. Renowned singers including K.J. Yesudas, Shankar Mahadevan and Sunidhi Chauhan have crooned for "Kaththi" album. One can buy the songs on iTunes India.

"Kaththi" teaser was also released during the audio launch. It is expected to impress Vijay fans who have been eagerly waiting to see it.

There are huge expectations on "Kaththi" as the "Thuppkki" combo Vijay-Murugadoss have teamed up again. The film's first looks and the motion poster have created great buzz about the project. It remains to be seen whether the action thriller will entertain the audience.

Again, "Kaththi" will not have a solo release and will be locking horns with two other biggies - Vikram's "I" and Vishal's "Poojai."

Leave a Reply

comments powered by Disqus